As computers use different bases to count with we must learn how to convert between the three most common bases:

  1. Decimal (denary) or base 10 – the one that we that we normally use
  2. Binary or base 2 – used internally by computers
  3. Hexadecimal or base 16 – used as a shorthand form of writing binary numbers

We´ll look at each of these in the next few sections.

Next: Decimal to Binary